[April 09, 2004]

[03:08]


In six weeks, I've ages six years.

Eyes: Final Fantasy X-2 on the PS2
Ears: Bastiaan Ragas - You Complete Me
Mood: Elated because it's the Easter break!

After a lot of shite and hissy fits and gripes to everyone who would come in earshot, I am finally done with the effing group project. And in the process, I have come to acquire a pronounced hatred for a few members of the class (teaching staff included), and have for the first time in my entire architectural education, received a slew of Ps and even a F.

I FAILED AN ASSIGNMENT!!!

OMG, there is no justice in this world.

Long story short, I have probably ended up in the most dysfunctional group ever possible, of which, members have either too little or too much to say during group discussions, and entirely clueless and idiotic during presentations and critique sessions. Of which, none of whom can even make the tiniest decision on their own (including what time to meet for the next discussion!), nor write in any eloquent manner. Of which, a certain someone had a tendancy to be a freeloader when it comes to meals, and others who seriously piss me off and are terrible examples of pig-headed, rude asians who speak in mandarin in the presence of non-mandarin speaking individuals - making the latter group think that they're being discussed in a less than desirable manner. Do they not see that it's a bloody rude thing to do?!

AAAAAARRRRRRGGGGGGHHHHHHH!!!!

Anyway, it's been a painful experience over the last 6 weeks of classes, and in that time, I've had two P=, one P+, one C+, and one F+ slapped on my report card. *sobs*

Of course, in a very non-acadamic point of view, I have also signed up for a 3 month membership to the gym (of which I must say, is a pretty good one - hey, the Dutch olympic swimming team of 2000 trained here!) and have gone a total of 7-8 times. Not a fantastic record of course, but considering I haven't actually slept more than 4 hours a day during the group project (with only a 15 minute nap in the last 38 hours before submission), it's pretty decent.

James has decided to take up the job with a certain North Sydney architectural firm. Starting this Tuesday, he'll be living at Homebush with his gran, and I'll probably only see him some weekends. Not a good prospect. Oh well, at least he has a job, and it's with a good firm. On a slightly more evil point of view, he'll be out of my hair when I'm pissing in my pants over the highrise project. I don't think I'll be able to handle both his whinging and problems on top of my own.

Not that I'm being a terrible partner, but I'm just not up to it at this moment. And he will be around for me to coo and listen and cuddle up too in the weekends. So that'll be nice. =D

As I was saying, the new project's on a prospective highrise mix-use building in the middle of Sydney. Went down with the class on Tuesday to take a look round the site and at other highrise buildings. Much fun it was - mainly cos it was in the city, and there was tons of tall buildings towering over me, and lots of smog to inhale. I was back in my own domain! Whee! Hilarious too was the fact that right when we got off the coach at the first construction site, there marched up a bunch of disgruntled workers on strike and protesting for better wages. We were hustled into the site (with a serious lack of actual work happening, because of the strike), and I must say, it's all really fascinating how a building actually gets constructed. Only thing I hate about being on a site is the fact that the bloody hardhat makes me look like I have some head deformity. Bleah.

Of course P (my eye candy of choice in class) doesn't seem to have that problem in his hardhat - I swear, that boy will even look good in a gunny sack. *swoons*

Well, after that, it was on to the actual site for our project. Lots of happy photo snapping students around, myself included. Took the opportunity to take some completely unrelated shots, such as the one below of the pigeons.



Well, the day ended with a presentation at the RAIA office at Potts Point, which was informative, even if I did think Norman Foster produced a serious dud for this project. Got back to Newy on the coach at around 6. Another day gone.

Nothing much happened after that - it's only been 2 days since. It's late, and I'm tired and frustrated, and need sleep. I am, however, afraid to close them (eyes, I mean) because of a certain bug that might still be alive and in my room. What's this, you ask? Well, was about to get ready to take the bus to go get my weekly groceries at Woolies this evening, and when I was about to open the wardrobe, I looked up, and saw this disgusting cricket-like bug. When I say cricket-like, I mean it looks EXACTLY like one, except it couldn't be, cos it was HUGE. It could be a giat cricket, however, who am I to say?

It doesn't make any noises, however.

Anyway, being to insect-hating individual that I am, I got out my can of Baygon and attempted a quiet - if a little toxicating - assasination of the bug. Well, it fell off the wall, onto my bookshelf, then onto my paper lamp, where it stayed for a bit. I was just about to crush it with a paper towel, when it JUMPED and disappeared from sight. DISAPPEARED.

I freaked.

I mean, I had no idea where it went, so I was shaking out all my clothes that were close by, not to mention my bedsheets and pillows. Dropped down to floor level and checked to see if it landed on the disgustingly patterned carpet.

Nowhere in sight.

And of course, by this time, only 15 minutes had passed, but I was running late to actually catch the bus. So had to forgo the bug hunt and meet Anj in the foyer.

THE BUG IS NOT CAUGHT AND FLUSHED DOWN THE BOWL AS YET.

AT THIS VERY MOMENT, IT COULD STILL BE CRAWLING ROUND MY ROOM, WAITING FOR A OPPORTUNITY TO STRIKE.

I WILL NEVER SLEEP EASY AGAIN, UNLESS AND UNTIL I FIND THE DEAD BODY OF THIS GIANT CRICKET-LIKE INSECT.

There you go. my life, up to date. It's 3.49am now (daylight saving screwed up my life once again when it started/ended last week) and I'm off to bed. To hopefully fall asleep - sometime.

Night, world.




Navigate
Contact
Reads
Snobjump
Clicks & Thanks